Create account | Log in as member
Circuit Paul Ricard. 02 June 2020
May 10, 2018


ACR Zakspeed score their second 1-2 in the 2018 WTF1 Superleague with Alex Siebel continuing his relentless form after bad luck in the opening rounds. Risto Kappet finished second after an adventurous evening and Hawkeye's Ricardo Costa finally transferre
There was rain on the radar but qualifying started dry and the regular frontrunners set their times with Siebel leading Kappet by only 0.067s, Jordan and Costa trailing them by over 0.3sec.

Geoffrey Fournier continued his stable good form in fifth and Florian Geier seemed to finally put RBR SRS where it belonged with sixth on the grid. With two timed laps done, the rain started, precluding further time improvements.

The start of the race was looking to be dangerous with half of the grid possibly on a damper starting position than the other half, polesitter Siebel being one of them. Siebel would still keep his lead from Kappet however, while Fournier tapped Jordan into a spin, the German only managing to recover to 15th by the end.

Kappet seemed to have the pace to challenge Siebel and caught back up to the German after few mistakes in the opening laps, but he misjudged the entry to the pits while following his teammate on lap 31 and after nearly slamming into the back of his teammate, he spun into the pits, losing time and picking up a drive through penalty in the process. It was still enough for him to stay ahead of Costa, who finished third after being the only top runner to run the medium tyre in the middle of the race. The Portuguese finished just a second ahead of Petar Brljak who made good progress after a poor qualifying, who in turn was only a second ahead of Epic's Borja Milan with a great drive to finish fifth, ahead of his teammate.

Former championship leader Jarl Teien recovered to only seventh from a back of the grid penalty, while Liam de Waal finished 11th. Jason Muscat had a successful stand-in for EVAL to score three points in 13th while Florian Geier finished far from his qualifying spot to finish P14 for SRS.

In the drivers standings, Alex Siebel rises to the top of the table for the first time this year, placing himself four points ahead of teammate Kappet and 14 ahead of Jarl Teien.
In the teams championship, ACR Zakspeed extends their lead ahead of Edge Esports to a solid 50 points.

In two weeks time the race will be held at the new Paul Ricard track.

Full results: HERE.

Related texts:

SimNews.TVSR Race NetworkRaceView